Lullabies for mornings, nights, and small stressed potatoes

Hello, friends!

So Life things are happening and I am a small, stressed potato. So this will be a short post. I was half planning to write a post about my WIP today…but it’s being so difficult, I decided to just let it sit in the corner and BE that way.

So let’s talk about music instead!

I adore music. I live and breath the stuff. And I don’t think I’ve ever actually done a whole blog post about music? So we’re fixing that today.

The following list of songs could be lullabies. They could be early morning songs that ease you into starting your day. They could be songs for small stressed potatoes lying on the floor, focusing on taking deep breaths.

Personally, I use them for all of the above.

(All titles link to YouTube)

***

1. “Before You Start Your Day” by Twenty One Pilots

If you’ve been around for a while, you’ve probably heard me scream about Twenty One Pilots once or twice. This song, as you might guess from the title, is perfect for listening to first thing in the morning. It is soft, hopeful, and SO BEAUTIFUL.

Look in the mirror

and ask yourself

if you’re all right

2. “Vice Verses” by Switchfoot

Switchfoot has been my jam for as long as I can remember. They will be my jam forever. (Honestly, I could probably do this whole post with just Switchfoot songs, but I’m trying to include several different artists). This song feels like walking along the beach under a gray sky, somewhere between apathy, melancholy, and peace. Perfect for lying on the floor and just b r e a t h i n g

Let the Pacific laugh

be on my Epitaph

3. “Three Ravens” by Libera

…This one is sort of random. It’s an old English ballad, methinks? Arranged for a boys’ choir? And the ravens are thinking about eating this dead knight chap for breakfast? But it’s so HAUNTING and GORGEOUS.

A snippet of the lyrics as my sisters and I always sing it:

With a down dairy

dairy cow down

4. “Get Home” by Bastille

The harmonies in this one. Also, for whatever reason, I’m a sucker for songs about people just wanting to go home. I think it would make excellent late-night driving music.

This is just another night

and we’ve had many of them

To the morning we’re cast out

but I know I’ll land here again

5. “I Am a Poor wayfaring stranger” by Jos Slovick

This song is from the film 1917–which you should ALL WATCH because it’s incredible. The use of this song in the film is excellent, but you can also listen to it on its own. And love it. It’s…kind of about death–but it’s so hopeful and hauntingly beautiful.

I’m only going over Jordan

I’m only going over home

6. “Sunlight” by Radical Face

This song is the perfect blend of melancholy and hope. Soft and sweet and beautiful.

Could you share a little piece of your sunlight?

Or carry me off in the cold night?

I don’t really care where I land

7. “Follow You Down to the Red Oak Tree” by James Vincent McMorrow

The sound of this one. It does something inside me. It makes me want to walk barefoot over autumn leaves and just breathe.

Follow you down to the red oak tree

as the air moves thick through the hollow reeds

Will you wait for me there until someone comes

to carry me, carry me down

8. “Trauma” by NF

Is this song uplifting? …No. Will it cheer you up if you’re having a bad day? Probably not. But sometimes when you’re going through a hard time, you want music honestly acknowledges those feelings instead of trying to divert your attention. And that’s what this is. It’s so raw and beautiful and I have many many feelings.

Grab my hand, I’m drowning

I feel my heart pounding

Why haven’t you found me yet?

9. “Come Home” by Jon Foreman

How is this man so talented. This song. I mentioned earlier that I love songs about people wanting to go home–but songs asking someone else to come home are equally excellent. (Or this one is anyway)

Looking for reasons to try

a reason to live or to die

Won’t you come home

back to where your heart is

10. “Truce” by Twenty One Pilots

This is the ultimate song for the end of a long day or the beginning of a new one. It is small and soft and hopeful. Listening to it helps me stop, take a breath, and remember that things are going to be okay.

The sun will rise

and we will try again

***

That’s it for today! Go forth and listen to all the songs.

Do you know any of these songs? What is your favorite band? What music do you listen to to calm you down when you’re stressed out? (Or do you not tend to use music for such purposes?) How is your current WIP behaving? Do you have any music recommendations for me? Do tell!

featured image source

10 responses to “Lullabies for mornings, nights, and small stressed potatoes”

  1. Thank you for song recs!!! I, a fellow small stressed potato, love listening to new songs and these all sound wonderful!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m definitely going to have to listen to some of these songs! I’ve listened to some TOP, but have by no means plumbed the depths…
    So sorry your WIP is misbehaving, that’s the worst! “I decided to just let it sit in the corner and BE that way.” <<Good strategy. Thumbs up. (I'm doing the same with mine right now, because I probably need to do a time skip, but I don't know how because a lot has to happen, and I'm trying to figure out how to jump through time while simultaneously showing-not-telling…which is something I'm terrible at. So yeah. XD)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yessss, listen to all of them. Especially TOP. (“Leave the City” is another great TOP one that could have been on this list.)
      Why are our WIP’s so DISRESPECTFUL to us?? Ack, trying to figure out when and how to communicate what happens before/between the action of the story is SO HARD. My WIP has a ton of backstory stuff that needs to be communicated at some point, but when? And does the character tell the other characters? Or is it just a flashback? Aggggghhhh.
      Hopefully after some time in the corner, both our WIP’s will be a little better behaved πŸ˜‰

      Like

  3. You might try Vienna Teng’s “Lullaby for a Stormy Night” and “Never Look Away.” Some Eurielle might be just right for you too.
    Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to listen to that awesome Three Ravens song again. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment